Oklahoma's Premier Injury Law Firm
dad buckling toddler in car seat

4 Laws You Should Know as a Driver in Oklahoma

Traffic laws are implemented to ensure your safety and reduce the risk of collisions. Failure to comply with them can result in injuries and lead to tickets, fines, or other legal ramifications. Whether you live in the state of Oklahoma or plan on visiting soon, this information applies to you. Below, we discuss 4 laws that all drivers in Oklahoma should know.

1. You Are Required to Stay at the Scene of a Crash.

No matter how minor a collision may seem, never attempt to drive away or flee the scene without taking proper steps. Oklahoma Statute § 10-104 requires that drivers who hit another vehicle, person, place, or thing render aid to any injured individuals as well as provide the following:

  • Correct name
  • Address
  • Registration information
  • Upon request, driver’s license and insurance information

This applies to any type of accident that results in property damage, bodily injury, or death. Failure to stop and comply with these requirements is known as a hit and run and can lead to criminal charges, which vary depending on the circumstances of the crash.

2. Distracted Driving Is Prohibited.

Oklahoma drivers should always give their full attention to the road. Unfortunately, distracted driving accidents are a leading cause of car accidents in the state and across the U.S. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), about 8 people are killed every day in the U.S. in accidents caused by distracted drivers. Thousands more are injured in these accidents.

According to Oklahoma Statute §47-11-901b, distracted driving is generally prohibited because “The operator of every vehicle, while driving, shall devote their full time and attention to such driving.” In addition, a law that went into effect in 2015 now prohibits “hand-held electronic communication devices” to write, send, or read a text message while the vehicle is moving.

3. Certain Children Are Required to Be in Car Seats or Booster Seats.

Statistics from the CDC reveal that an estimated 46% of car and booster seats are misused in a way that could reduce their effectiveness, leaving children susceptible to injuries. Additionally, car accidents are one of the leading causes of death for young children.

However, many of these deaths and many more injuries can be prevented when children are properly secured in a child restraint system. Ensuring that your child is properly secured in the car is also part of Oklahoma law, which requires the following:

  • Children 0-2 years old must be secured in a rear-facing car seat, which should be installed in the back seat of the vehicle and fitted according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  • Children 2-4 years old must be restrained in an internal harness and may face forward after the age of 2. A 5-point harness is the safest restraint system and should be used as long as possible or recommended.
  • Children 4-8 years old are required to sit in a fitted car seat or booster seat, unless they are taller than 4’9’’.
  • Children older than 8 or taller than 4’9’’ may ride without a restraint system, but must wear a seat belt.

4. You Must Have Car Insurance.

Auto insurance is supposed to provide you protection and peace of mind if life throws you a curveball. However, there are still drivers who share the same roads as you that do not have insurance. Data from the Insurance Information Institute (III) shows that 13.4% of all Oklahoma drivers do not carry insurance.

Remember that auto insurance is not optional for drivers in Oklahoma. Under Oklahoma law, vehicle drivers in the state are required to maintain liability auto insurance coverage in the following amounts:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Injured in a Car Crash? Get Help Today

At Martin Jean & Jackson, our team is dedicated to helping drivers across Oklahoma stay safe on our roadways. Unfortunately, we understand that even the safest drivers who take all the right precautions can still be injured due to other negligent, distracted, or outright reckless drivers.

If you are injured in a car accident, don’t hesitate to contact us immediately. We will handle your case from start to finish, negotiating with the insurance company and working hard for maximum results on your behalf. This way, you can focus on getting your life back on track.

When hurt people need help, we answer the call. Contact our team at to get started with a free case evaluation. We have four convenient offices located in Oklahoma City, Stillwater, Tulsa, and Ponca City.